The Hard Way

There is this thing in Orthodoxy that is annoying and yet, good for me (would that be EVERYTHING…. hmmmm?)

In general, if you ask a question, it is almost impossible to get a straight answer (firm yes, firm no). If you say, “Am I doing this correctly?” The response tends to be more, “Try it and find out!”

That does NOT feel good for those of us still hurting from the past.

Yet, it has a GREAT (not just good) purpose. I can SEE the purpose is to make us learn the lessons better, to humble us. To make us willing to be quick to apologize AND quick to forgive.

After all, we are ALL children and children can only be lead so far before it is time for us to learn to stumble around and gain our own strength.

I don’t know what I DO NOT know and neither does anyone else. To control others is prelest. To insist on my own way is prelest. To insist on my preference is prelest.

To accept what I have been given is to be at peace.

Lord, have mercy on me, the sinner.

Leave a comment